Still Recovering from SPX

spx-logo

The Small Press Expo (SPX) last weekend was a real blast, but I still haven’t completely recovered from it. Derek and I had a great time there, but we also interviewed and spoke with a lot of people and discussed the Ignatz Awards at length. Derek did the majority of the interviews including a great interview with Bill Griffith about his new book Invisible Ink: My Mother’s Secret Love Affair with a Famous Cartoonist and more.

We actually spoke about the Ignatz Award nominees before the results were announced and later discussed what we thought of the winners as well as many of the other nominees. You can listen to that episode here.

imm

As far as the interviews go, there’s something for everybody regardless of your comics interest. We talked with so many creators, Derek had to split the interviews up into three shows. In the first, we have:

In the second:

And in the final round:

gall

Derek and I would like to thank everyone who took the time to speak with us. I also must offer a huge apology to John Gallagher, the creator of Buzzboy comics. I recorded a great conversation with John, but unfortunately something happened to that audio file and I was not able to upload it. My apologies, John, but hopefully we can have you on the show another time.

SPXhaul1

Now I have a lot of reading to do… (This is, by the way, half of my SPX haul…)

Leave a Reply

