Film Noir News

Over the next few days, I hope to post a review of a film I haven’t been able to stop thinking about,  John Frankenheimer’s Seconds (1966) plus the next film in my Blindspot series, Nicholas Ray’s Johnny Guitar (1954). In the meantime, I have a little film noir news for you:

feb9bigheat   feb9sidewalk

Yesterday I posted my thoughts on the Twilight Time re-release of Journey to the Center of the Earth, focusing mainly on Twilight Time as a company. Today I want to mention two films released yesterday by Twilight Time, The Big Heat (1953) and Where the Sidewalk Ends (1950) This is a re-release of The Big Heat, a title that sold out of its initial 3,000 print run, so Twilight Time is bringing it back for a 5,000 print run. I’m definitely on board for this one. Where the Sidewalk Ends is also an excellent film noir and this one includes a commentary track from Eddie Muller, so don’t miss this one, either.

maltese-falcon

Next, I hope you’ll join me in celebrating the 75th anniversary of The Maltese Falcon (1941) by seeing it on the big screen, either on February 21 or 24. It’s bound to be playing in your area, thanks to TCM, so please go see this classic if you get the chance. (If you’re in the Annapolis, Maryland area, I hope to see you this Sunday night at the Harbour 9!)

unnamed

On a much smaller scale, the Severna Park Library (where I work) will be showing the 1944 film noir Double Indemnity on Thursday, March 3 at 6:30pm as part of our Great Movies series. I’ll give a brief introduction before we show the film and we’ll have a time for questions afterward. My co-worker Julia and I have really been pleased with the audience turnout and enthusiasm so far for Casablanca and Dr. Strangelove, so we can’t wait to screen our first film noir!

810_BD_box_348x490_original

And rounding out the news, a huge announcement from Criterion: Nicholas Ray’s classic noir In a Lonely Place (1950) will get a Blu-ray release on May 10. Fans have been waiting for a Blu-ray edition of this one for a long time and I’m so glad Criterion is handling it. May 10 – save your coins and mark your calendars.

 

Leave a Reply

