Half the Year’s Over… What Have You Watched?

Time for some major nerd numbers and stats! One of my goals for 2016 was to watch 300 movies. I realized pretty early in the year that I probably wasn’t going to hit that number, but what I’ve seen for the first half of the year isn’t too bad: 128 movies.

FirstHalf

As you can see, film noir (and noir-related movies) have accounted for 54 of those films, or 42%. So a little less than half of my movie-watching is film noir. I can live with that, but I think I’d like to edge that up to about 52% or so.

Decades

It makes sense, then, that most of my viewing consists of movies from the 1940s and 1950s, the biggest film noir decades, as indicated above. My favorite year is a three-way tie: I watched eight films each from 1948, 1950, and 1953. Oddly enough, I also watched eight films from 2015…

One of my big questions each year is rewatchability. (I know that’s not a real word, but shouldn’t it be?) How many films – especially those I own – will I reasonably watch again? Well, here’s the answer:

FirstSecondThird

Almost 70% of the films I watched I saw for the very first time. I thought my second watch vs. third watch movies would have more of a separation, but they’re each about 15% of my viewing.

So far in 2016 I’ve read nine books about movies (and I’m currently in the middle of two more). Another of my goals for 2016 was to read 300 books (of all kinds). Oddly enough, I’ve read 128 books so far, the same exact number of movies I’ve seen. That’s a little weird…

So here are a few more fun facts:

Phoenix

The best movie I’ve seen so far this year: Phoenix (2014)

BitterStems2

The best film noir: Los talos amargos (The Bitter Stems) (1956), which I saw at Noir City in San Francisco and long to see on Blu-ray. (Photo: Laura’s Miscellaneous Musings)

FatCity_BD_HighRes__05219.1438821575.1280.1280

The best “Why Did I Wait So Long to See This Movie?”: Fat City (1972)

big1

The best time I had watching a movie from the 1980s: Big Trouble in Little China (1986)

103627_front

The best conversation(s) I’ve had about movies: with my friend and coworker Beckie (see The Beckie Project)

last_one

The best recommendation(s) from a friend: Mesrine: Killer Instinct (2008) and Mesrine: Public Enemy #1 (2008) from Michael Kronenberg

810_BD_box_348x490_original

Best punch-in-the-gut rewatch: In a Lonely Place (1950)

Well, I could go on and on, but I’ve love to hear about the films you’ve watched in the first half of 2016. Let the comments begin!

 

4 thoughts on “Half the Year’s Over… What Have You Watched?

  1. Thanks – Hope you enjoy them all! Got my issue of The Dark Pages today, by the way, which I always enjoy.

    Like

  2. Love the stats and charts and your “best of” format is a great way to look at the month that was. You already know I 1000% agree with you on the amazing Phoenix. Adding Fat City, the Mesrines and Locke to my (neverending) watchlist.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

