Film Noir Releases in June 2017 – Addendum: Jawbone (2017) Thomas Napper

A couple of days ago I posted my Film Noir Releases in June 2017 article, which I hesitated in posting, since I always find out about new titles shortly after hitting the “Publish” button. Such is the noir world, right?

81EUSvmSzXL._SL1500_

This morning I discovered a British boxing/noir film called Jawbone (2017) announced for a Blu-ray release on June 5 in the UK. Right now it’s a UK only release, but what’s interesting is the fact that the film will be released theatrically in the UK on May 12. A mere 24 days seems a lightning-fast turnaround from theater to disc… Maybe my friends in the UK can shed some light on that.

Anyway, the film looks quite promising. Just look at the cast: Johnny Harris (who also wrote and co-produced the film), Ray Winstone, Michael Smiley and Ian freaking McShane! The film is directed by first-time feature director Thomas Napper, although Napper has worked as second unit director on such films as Pride and Prejudice (2005), Into the Woods, Atonement, The Soloist and more.

Although I probably won’t blind buy this one just yet, my interest level is way up there. If you live in the UK and plan to see it, please let me know what you think.

Photos: The Big Issue, You Tube, Blu-ray.com

Leave a Reply

